Office Building
Office Building
Trail Improvement
Trail Improvement
Conservation Pond
सरक्षण पोखरी
Water Source Protection
पानी मुहान सरक्षण
People participation in landslide control
पहिरो नियन्त्रणमा जनसहभागिता
Water harvesting
Soil erosion is an inherent characteristic of Nepal's physio-climatic and socio-economic conditions. Sharp physiographic and climatic contrasts in combination with other natural phenomena contribute to the fragility of Nepalese mountains. The combined effect of geologically unstable, steep and rugged mountain topography and intense monsoon rainfall make the country prone to high soil erosion rates. Cultivation of marginal hill slopes to meet the demands of increasing population further aggravates the naturally high soil erosion rate. Deforestation, overgrazing and poorly maintained marginal lands contribute to the degradation of our watersheds. In addition, other human activities such as improper land use, unscientific cultivation practices and construction of development infrastructures without integrating conservation measures have also exacerbated the problems of soil erosion, landslide, flooding and environmental degradation.
In recognition of critical situation of soil erosion and watershed degradation in the country, Government of Nepal established the Department of Soil and Water Conservation in August, 1974 under the then Ministry of Forests. In 1980, it was renamed as Department of Soil Conservation and Watershed Management (DSCWM) to better represent its roles and responsibilities of watershed management. Since its establishment, various efforts have been continuing to meet the challenges of soil erosion and watershed degradation faced by the country. Reorganization of the Departmental structure was carried out in 1993 and 1997. At present DSCWM is providing SCWM service to 73 out of the 75 districts of Nepal through 61 District Soil Conservation Offices (DSCO). The DSCOs have also been classified into "Ka" (headed by a Gazetted Class II Officer) and "Kha" (headed by a Gazetted Class III Officer) categories. Out of 61 district offices, 38 are under " Ka " category and 23 under " Kha" category. There are altogether 647 staff within the department. 
DSCWM has been planning, implementing and monitoring soil conservation and watershed management programs/activities based on the principles of integrated watershed management. To reflect the multi dimensional needs of SCWM measures, DSCWM is staffed with multi disciplinary personnel. Foresters, agriculturist, civil engineers, chemist and geologist are the main disciplinary staffs in the department.